Not my will but yours be done

I found myself as of late trying to grow closer to God in relationship, and in deed. One way that I’ve been doing that is by trying to make sure that his agenda comes before mine. I sometimes catch myself talking about things that I want and how great that would be. And sometimes I get a check that says “but, is that what he wants”. Prayer should not always be requests of what we want but some of “lord, are we on the same page”.

In the next few weeks we’ll be bidding on new shifts at work and with those new shifts come new partners. So as I was driving home I began to pray about what shift I wanted and who I’d like to be partnered with and then it hit me. Why not ask “what shift do you want me to be on and who do you want me to work with?”

2 Comments

Filed under Randomness

2 responses to “Not my will but yours be done

  1. Good point… I think our tunnel vision of our our own desires is why we don’t notice that He’s present and that is also the reason we don’t think of partnership. We either want the lead or have Him lead instead of walking side by side

  2. How about,”Lord, what are you already doing in this situation, and how can I partner with you?”

Leave a Reply

